The Power of Positive Thinking

{{new plan. Daily picture with the daily post. what do you think?}}

Anywho …

As a child I was very attached to my Father. I looked up to him, I admired him, I grew up to mirror so much I saw in him. I am truly the perfect mix of my Mother and my Father. It’s weird. haha Having lost my Dad when I was only 8 years old, I managed to hold on to several memories and lessons. One thing that my Father told me that I always remembered and think about often was …

If you think it and believe it, then that is the result you are going to get.

I’m sure I was throwing some sort of tantrum when he told me this {I was a very spoiled child to say the least}. But as I grew up and started to see all the things I didn’t see as a child, I realized that my Dad was absolutely right. A positive mindset leads to positive results just as a negative mindset will lead you into darker places.

My Mom told me the other day that I was wise beyond my years. I truly don’t think I am. I think I was just blessed to have two bad ass parents who taught me some awesome lessons.

However, in my life I have seen some dark places. I went through years of really bad depression and to be honest even today there are days where I fall back into that place ..I have flashbacks of those traumatizing times. But, with a lot of support and determination I was able to pull myself out of that hole and start to see things in a new light. I realized that if I took those bad situations and stopped letting them control me that I could then learn the lesson that was hiding behind them. I still wonder “Why Me” sometimes but at the end of the day I know that everything that happens to me is truly a lesson to learn and help me grow.

It’s the same with goals and bucket lists. I say I may never do these things because of time and money or whatever but the reality is, I know somewhere in my head that if I truly want it …I’ll do it. It’s about making it happen instead of making excuses as to why it cant or wont. 

If you want to go to the gym and lose 50 pounds …DO IT! Dont make excuses or try and think of all the reasons why you may not be successful. SUCK IT UP BUTTERCUP!!! Just get off your hind end and do it. Simple as that.

 

Now to take my own advice -_-  

Thanks for being a part of my journey,

signature.jpg (188×302)

17 thoughts on “The Power of Positive Thinking

  1. Nice entry! I totally agree with you. Positive thinking is benefitting positiv results. Do you know by any chance if there are scientific studies out there regarding the influence of a positive mindset on actual results? I mean not like, I feel good so I can go to the gym. More in an abstract way. For example, if people who are happier tend to be less sick?

    • Honestly that’s a great question. I’ve never really looked into any scientific studies in the matter. I take it fully from my personal experience. But that’s definitely something I’m interested in figuring out now that you mention it. Haha

  2. Okay so we are being honest here again which I truly admire. My take on it is simple, most of us go through ordeals in our lives, some interesting others not so pleasant. The little I’ve learned through reading psychology is that we require two things to be always in a positive state of mind:

    1- Re-assurance that everything is going to be alright.
    2- Associating positive feelings to daily activities.

    I would recommend that you read ‘The Ultimate Introduction to NLP (Neuro Linguistic Programming) by Richard Bandler’, Summary: we can always think positively or have the feeling in our body.

    Having said, that picture looks good and you are possibly right (or your mum) that your writing is very mature and balanced ‘Buttercup’ 🙂

    Keep writing.

    Ali

    • Thank you! I truly appreciate that. I’ll definitely have to check out that book.

      When I decided to start a blog I told myself that I would do it with holding back. It’s 100% me and my story.

      • Souther California, never been there. I was in Florida for new years and later spent sometime with family in Boston. This might be a bit forward of me however, did this blog come about as a consequence of a bad relationship?

        Ali

      • California is beautiful. I miss it sometimes. But I don’t miss the mass amounts of people or expensive prices. I’m enjoying Tennessee and taking in all that it has to offer while I’m at it. But I have to say ..Boston is my absolute favorite place. I am so in love with Boston.

        Too be honest it’s a compilation of a lot of things. But there has been a few bad relationships to ice the cake.

      • I love Boston as well, it reminds me a bit of South East of England, has a lot of European influence. Quite a lot of Irish folks, every bar is the ‘Celtics’ or ‘Paddy’. I’ve got an uncle who live in Tennessee, heard he has a house on the lake, never visited him but I do visit US very often.

        Do you ever travel to the other side of the pond. I just randomly do things these days and that is liberating.

        O tell me about Bad Relationships 🙂 absolute killers aren’t they however, I do think one grows stronger with every failed relationship and more clarity on what they are looking for in the next one.

        Always good to see your post.

        Ali

      • Thank you.
        Yeah Boston is absolutely beautiful. I miss it very much. I would absolutely love to live out there. But Tennessee is home right now. So that works for me. At least I’m closer to Boston now. My favorite thing about being on this side of the country is that now I can watch the Red Sox games. They don’t show them in California.
        Haha oh trust me there will be blogs about bad relationships. I’ve had a few. They’ve definitely had big impacts on me. But at the end of the day I have grown from it.

      • My aunt lives in North Quincy and I absolutely love it, its not Boston proper but really nice place to live. I love the fact that you get so much value for money, nice sized houses etc.. I live in a mouse hole compared to the houses in Boston and US. I would love to see Tennessee, I did go to Fenway park but there wasn’t a game on, wouldn’t mind watching Celtics as well.

        Relationships tell me about it, trickiest thing on earth, I have my theory but won’t bore you with that 🙂 Do you think if you could go back you would do things differently.

        Ali

      • Actually Boston is very expensive. It’s much like California in that fashion. In many other places, Tennessee included …you could get a really nice big house for half the price. Our rent went down $500 when we moved out here and our house now is bigger.

      • Probably not as expensive as Berkshire 🙂 I love the life style you enjoy state side. Do you have a pool? I would love to have my own pool. How is the weather in Tennessee.

Leave a Reply

