Things I’ve Stopped Caring About

Image

 

From my teenage years up through the first handful of years in my 20’s I spent so much time caring about so many stupid things that I forgot what was important and what wasn’t. I’ve always been the type of person to over think every little thing…. literally EVERYTHING and far too often I’ve let that consume me. It took a lot of life lessons and self talks to decide what was important to care about and what wasn’t. 

For instance ..peoples opinions of me. Now why the hell should I care what someone thinks about me if they hold no importance in my life. Some random stranger in a store, bar or restaurant … it makes no sense. But I did. I cared so much. I wanted every one to think I was a badass, and pretty and funny and all those other things. I put in so much effort to wear the right outfits, put on all my makeup and do my hair. No matter where I was going. I made sure I was standing with the right people. It wasn’t so much about wanting attention as much as wanting reassurance that I was all those things I wanted to be. I still need and want that reassurance but not from just anyone. The important people in my life (family and close friends) are really the only opinions that matter to me.

I’ve stopped caring if everyone around me thought I was attractive. I still have my moments when I feel ugly so I want everyone else to think I’m pretty so it can put my confidence back up. But more often than not these days, when I go to the grocery store or to run a couple quick errands…. you’ll be lucky if I put on jeans instead of sweats and actually do my makeup. I want to workout and get fit and be pretty for myself and my husband. That’s it. Everyone else can go right ahead and form their opinion then move along with it. Why should a strangers opinion tell me what I am or am not.

I’ve stopped caring if my choices are socially acceptable to everyone else. Ok so I have a shit ton of dogs …I have even more tattoos and I’m an educated woman who like to say Fuck …so be it! Does that hurt you in any way ..nope ..didn’t think so. Why should I care if you dont like it or dont understand it? I dont. Sure I’m not going to go out of my way to curse like a sailor in front of you and your family because I know if makes you uncomfortable. But I am also not going to pretend that I’m someone I’m not. 

All in all I’ve just stopped caring about other peoples opinions of me. Unless you are interviewing me for a job ..I do not care what you think about me. Sure I want everyone to like me but I’m also adult enough to realize and accept that not everyone is going to like me and that is just fine. The haters fuel my fire and drive me to continue growing and advancing in all aspects of my life. 

Bring it on! 🙂

Thanks for being a part of my journey,

signature.jpg (188×302)

 

9 thoughts on “Things I’ve Stopped Caring About

  1. That was an intense post, probably one the most brutally honest pieces of writing I have seen lately. The amazing thing is that it speaks to most of us (at least me), I think we are by nature looking for that reassurance and friendly nod saying ‘you are alright, every thing is going to be okay’, human nature. The way you have grown to understand the difference between opinions that matter and the ones which have no bearing is commendable.

    I’ve often believed that insecurity is very human and we all have one or two things that we want to make better about ourselves, I personally feel there is nothing wrong with that.

    Let me ask you a question: What are the two fears that we are born with?, not a trick question but more or less a random one 🙂

    Keep writing.

    Ali

    • Thank you very much. I truly appreciate that. It took me a long time and a lot of pain to find the truth behind needing and wanting reassurance and acceptance. I was never the prettiest girl or the most popular. But rest assure I had the confidence at one point that it didn’t matter. I felt like I was and that was what mattered. I was happy with me. I’ve since lost that and spend every day trying to find it again. Self acceptance is more important that any other acceptance in the world.

      I think that is a great question and my honest answer is that I think we are naturally born with a fear of life and death. Both are so open for interpretation and are so unknown. It truly is terrifying.

Leave a Reply

