Disrespecting your Parents

Image

Oh man. Now this is a fun topic. 

NOT!

It reminds me of how much of an ass I was as a teenager sometimes. Woooo my mom should have whooped my ass a couple times! haha I was never a “disrespectful kid” ..now when I say that I mean it as in that was never who I was all the time. I was not categorized that way. But when I was disrespectful …oh man did I push my limits. 

See here’s the problem. My mom is awesome and seriously the best mom ever and when I was a kid she was too busy being an awesome mom that she forgot to spank me now and then! haha I was a very spoiled kid and as I grew up I neglected to realize that being spoiled wasn’t a right or requirement in my life. It was because my parents loved me and wanted to give me everything I could ever want or need. Unfortunately I used that to my advantage when I was a kid. I would push every button possible until I got my way and if I didn’t get my way I would throw an absolute fit. 

Now, this story turns around! When I finally pulled my head out of my ass I realized how spoiled I truly was and I learned first hand what it was like to have to work for the things you wanted… for the most part! Even to this day my mom and step dad bend over backwards to help me when I ask for it. No matter what. But I had to work a job and keep a job and take care of my responsibilities. My parents gave me my first car but I had to take care of it and pay for the insurance and all that stuff. I slowly learned some responsibility. As the years went on and I took on more of this shitty responsibility stuff I started respecting my parents more and more and more. Thought at times I am really bad at showing it. I am grateful for all they’ve done and continue to do.

I think the problem is that as kids we are so blind to the realities. We dont understand that a bank account isn’t bottomless and that bills truly do add up. We dont understand that the toy we want would cost us that nice dinner our parents wanted to make for us. And God forbid we realize that our self centered attitudes are making it so that our parents couldn’t do something nice for themselves. I remember being in junior high and going clothes shopping with my mom. We had a limit on how much I could spend. I think it was like $100. Anyway, I remember my mom finding something she really liked {which was rare} and she really wanted it. I told her to get it but she said no because we didn’t have the money. {this happened several times} Every time this happened I felt so sad because my mom deserved to do something nice for herself. But she was too busy taking care of me and making sure I could get everything I wanted. {Told you I have an awesome mom… who is going to read this and embarrass me by being all mushy haha} It was nice when I moved out and started being an adult and my mom finally started doing things for herself. It made me happy. 

One of these days I’ll be able to repay her for all she’s done ..really repay my parents for all they’ve done. I’ve had a hard life and been through some shit but at the end of the day I’ve been blessed with a great family and seriously supportive parents. I’ve done some stupid shit and gotten involved in some less than proud things but my mom has always supported me no matter what…. even when she couldn’t have disagreed with me more. I know this is where I get my selflessness from. I’ve spent my adult life so worried about everyone around me that I always forgot to take care of my self. It’s been a journey that’s for sure!

Thanks for being a part of my journey,

Image

Leave a Reply

