My favorite place in the world.

Image

Ah, Boston

ok so first I want to make it clear that I am in love with Boston. I would absolutely live there if I could. There’s just so much about Boston {and the immediately surrounding areas} that I couldn’t get enough of. 

One of my best friends is from Boston and a couple years ago I went out there to visit her. I spent a week with her and honestly did not want to leave. I was absolutely in love with that place. Everything from the history, the architecture, the people, the accents, the sports …everything! Now you’ll see when baseball season starts up how much I love the Red Sox. I thank my visit to Boston for this. 

I think I’ve always had a thing with Boston. I always wanted to go there and experience it. When I had the chance to do it, I took it! While I was there I experienced so many great things. There was nothing about that place that I didn’t love! My friend took me to all the big surrounding areas and told me the stories and history of those areas. We walked part of the Freedom Trail which was absolutely amazing. We experienced a Red Sox vs. Yankees game while sitting in the window seats of a bar called “The Bleacher Bar.” It gets it’s name because it is literally built under the Big Green Monster in the outfield of Fenway part. I could have reached out the window and touched the grass. It was amazing! The thing that really got me was the love and family that Boston has built around it’s beloved team. They dont just enjoy their baseball …they absolutely love and support their team no matter what. I had always been a huge baseball fan and never really found a team that drew me in. The Red Sox and Boston absolutely did it. I’ve been in love ever since. Their passion is just so real. I dont really know how to put it into words …I just felt it in my heart. The Red Sox will be my team until the day I die! I was almost in tears as I watched them win the World Series last year. It was truly amazing!

The architecture in Boston is absolutely beautiful. It has never let go of it’s history and that shows in every building. My friend lived in Salem at the time and one day she had to work while I was there so I ventured out to discover the historic city. I walked the streets and took it all in. Each house was so unique and showed it’s age with beauty. Many of the houses had plaques on the front that stated when they were made and who the founding family was. Most of them dated back to the 1800’s. It was amazing. As I walked the roads I came upon the ever so famous witch house. Now let me tell you, that place is awesome! The house is just plain eerie. It is an all black house in the middle of modern type buildings on a fairly populated main road. You wanna talk about sticking out like a sore thumb. God it was amazing. I embarked on the experience and took the self monitored tour. There is a very weird feeling in that house. The history of the Salem Witch Trials is abundant in that town. It was so cool to see. I also walked around an old Salem Cemetery. I mean OLD! You couldn’t read most the head stones because they were so worn out. 

We drove through the streets and each of them had something else to offer. I had the opportunity to hang out with my friend and some of her closest friends. Some of the coolest and nicest people I’ve ever met. I had such an amazing time! 

I think about Boston often. I miss it a lot. It may sound weird but I just felt like I belonged there. I definitely left a piece of me in Boston. I’ve been a lot of places but none of them captivated me like Boston did. I will never forget it.

I also had the opportunity to walk down the now, country known, Boylston Street {where the Boston Bombing took place last year} I still get teary eyed when I think about it. I know that isn’t my home and I feel like I have no right to claim it. But that attack felt so personal. Boston will forever be a part of me.

Call it weird I dont care. It is so hard to put into words without sounding like a nut job. But it’s the truth! And if you ever get to go experience it’s greatness, DO IT!! I really hope to get back there soon.

 

Thanks for being a part of my Journey,

Image

 

6 thoughts on “My favorite place in the world.

Leave a Reply

