Regrets? No Thanks.

Image

No this is a topic almost as debatable as Politics and Religion. Regrets. Is it possible to have a life with NO regrets? I say yes. But many others say no. We all have our opinion on the matters.

To me a regret is not something that you look back on and say “Crap I really wish I would have done that differently” or “Wow I wish I hadn’t done that.” But to some people those are regrets in their eyes. If you ask me a regret is something that stays with you, haunts you. Something you think about all the time and truly interrupts your life.

Google It: Regret is a negative conscious and emotional reaction to personal past acts and behaviors.

Key word ….conscious. A regret to me is something that haunts your conscious. If a PAST {and no smart ass yesterday doesnt count as past in this situation} act is still causing you emotional distraught, that is a regret in my opinion.

I can honestly say I have no regrets. Sure there are things I wish I would have done differently or handled differently. There are things I wish I wouldn’t have done. But I also understand that we all make mistakes. It is how we deal with those choices that matters. Do we hold on and keep dwelling or do we let it go and learn from it? That is the different between mistakes and regrets.

I think it is absolutely possible to live a life without regrets. However, I do not think everyone can or should. If you got into a car knowing you were blazing drunk and you kill someone, you should have regret. That’s not just a simple mistake that you can just brush off and move on from. I dont know, maybe I’m crazy!

Even as a teenager {before my seriously judgement lacking choices ever occurred} I told myself I would never have regrets. I think I’ve done pretty good. Like I said, I’ve made mistakes. But I can assure  you I haven’t made the same mistake twice…. except speeding. I can’t seem to crack that one. -_- Hey, girl likes fast cars sue me! haha

I think a regret worthy situation is well, situational. I don’t think we should dwell on stupid little things. It just gets in the way of being able to enjoy life. If you are dwelling on some dumb decision from a couple years ago, let it go. It is not worth the tears anymore and it’s not worth hindering your life. LET IT GO!!!!

*End Rant*

Thanks for being a part of my journey,

Image

 

Leave a Reply

