I Miss You Friend

image

2 years ago today a great friend was taken too soon. The details behind her death I don’t feel need to be stated. She deserves her privacy as does her family. But I do want to talk about her.

Autumn was a beautiful and amazing person with a smile that lit up a room. She was a tiny little thing with a personality that packed a punch. She was an absolute firecracker. I have so many dear memories with her that I think about regularly. I remember after I moved away from home when I would come back to visit she would always greet me with a huge hug and we would always part with a hug and a “love ya”. When I first met Autumn I wasn’t sure what to think. She had so much personality it was a lot to take it. But those of us who didn’t already know her grew to adore her quickly. She quickly became a dear friend to all of us.

In the time I knew Autumn she became someone I admired so much. I remember a little while before she passed she called me a couple times. As soon as I answered she said “Heather. I really need a friend I can talk to.” I gladly sat on the phone with her for HOURS letting her vent and simply being a shoulder for her. She broke down her story and took blame for all her mistakes. It was the first time I had seen her so vulnerable and it broke my heart. Not just for her but for another dear friend who was a part of her story. I remember seeing Autumn once a few months before she passed and it breaks my heart knowing that was the last time I saw her.

I blame myself often for not being a better friend. I knew she was going through a hard time and I told myself regularly that I needed to call and check in on her. I hate myself sometimes for not doing that. For not taking the opportunity to talk to her and be a better friend. Not taking the innovative. It’s truly hard to explain without spilling her story. And I won’t do that. It’s just not my place. But simply said ….I wish I would have taken every chance I had to talk to her and spend time with her before she was gone.

She was a dear friend who I miss so much. Losing Autumn affected me more then I really express to anyone.

I have lost a lot of people in my life and all I can say is we truly need to cherish every day we have. They could be gone tomorrow. Don’t lose touch with people who mean something to you because at any time they can be taken away.

I miss you so much Autumn. I think about you often and I just pray you are happy now.

Thank you for being a part of my journey,

image

2 thoughts on “I Miss You Friend

Leave a Reply

