“Stay Gold, Ponyboy.”

Image

First off, if you do not know where this quote is from then you have a book to read and a movie to watch. This quote comes from the book/movie The Outsiders. My favorite book and movie ever. Probably the only movie I’ve seen that stays true to the book pretty much 100%. It’s amazing. I highly recommend looking into these items. Worth it I promise.

Anyway, this quote is in reference to a scene where the main character, Ponyboy Curtis, is talking to his best friend Johnny Cade. Ponyboy quotes the Robert Frost poem “Nothing Gold Can Stay.” An amazing poem, very short, but very powerful. The poem talks about how everything changes and even the most beautiful things have an end so you have to cherish them. 

Here’s the poem.

Nature’s first green is gold,
Her hardest hue to hold.
Her early leaf’s a flower;
But only so an hour.
Then leaf subsides to leaf,
So Eden sank to grief,
So dawn goes down to day
Nothing gold can stay. 

This is the first and only poem I have ever memorized. I just loved it. I first learned about The Outsiders in high school when we were required to read the book. I fell in love. I’ve always been big into the Greaser thing. It’s just a part of me. Hence my love for PinUp modeling. Anyway, during the scene when Ponyboy quotes this poem I was just in awe. It was a midst pure chaos and trouble. It shed a light on reality. 

Truly read the poem and think about it. I think it can have it’s own meaning to everyone. But at the end of it all, the final meaning is ….Nothing Gold Can Stay…. we must cherish all that is around us. Even the littlest things are important. That gorgeous sunset will be gone in mere moments; cherish it. Friends and family wont be there forever, live has a time limit, cherish every minute. The birds wont sing in the cold, dark winter months, listen to their songs. It will all be gone eventually. But the beautiful thing about that is that it makes room for new things and new experiences. If the sunset stayed there forever then we would never have the chance to witness a breathtaking sunset. 

 

Thanks for being a part of my journey,

Image

 

Leave a Reply

