Fake it til you make it?? ….No

3b629cfe80f610b74baa0a29bbb56a88

 

Why are people so judgmental? So assumptive? So conniving? So ….outlandish?

I’ll be honest; I do jump to stereotypes from time to time. Then again, I am a walking stereo type. Black hair, piercings, tattoos, dark makeup (when I actually do my makeup haha) …so yeah I have fallen to the standard of stereotype. “She must be a party girl, she must be a drinker or trouble maker. She’s gotta be the “bad girl” ….I’ve heard it all at this point.

I mean lets be real, sure I absolutely LOVE Avenged Sevenfold but 9 out of 10 times when I’m jamming out in my car with the stereo turned up …it’s to Katy Perry! Sure I enjoy a drink or two with my friends but going to the bar and getting wasted every weekend is absolutely not my thing anymore. I ran that course and I’m just not into it. I am a sit at home with friends or family or someone special and just relax and enjoy the company kind of person.

But the reality is ..I am absolutely none of those stereotypes that I have been labeled with before. I am actually a very gentle hearted person (as long as you don’t unleash the bitch ..because she’s DEFINITELY in there). I am the type of person who would give the shirt off my back to help someone. I enjoy going out of my way to help people in fact; especially my friends and family. The people I care about are my priority …not myself.

But then you get the people who on the outside look like they would be the nice boy or girl next door but in reality they are the ones talking behind everyone’s back and causing issues. They are continually in the mix when a problem arises. Why would you want to be that person? I hate drama. I can’t stand people who are not honest and real. It makes me crazy! People will respect you more for simply being you and being honest. Be real! No one likes people who are fake and untrustworthy or manipulative. No one can be a better version of you …only you can do that!

I don’t think I am better than anyone. I just know that I am better than I was yesterday.

We all have our flaws and we all have our days. But who are you in the bigger picture? Are you someone you can be proud of? Are you someone you would be honored to call a friend, a significant other, a son or daughter? Would you be your friend if you were someone else? I mean REALLY think about that. Would you rather be falsely liked for all your lies and the characters you play or honestly loved for just being yourself?

I’ve been both. When I was younger, before I had discovered who I was as a person and what I wanted out of life, I played those characters. Part of that was also because I was harboring a lot of pain and anger. But after losing friends, discovering who my real friends were and learning ways to deal with my inner “demons” …I found myself and can honestly say that I am proud of the woman I have become. There is always room to improve and room to grow. We learn new things every day and we are constantly changing. But that doesn’t mean we can’t make those changes for the better!

Just be real. Just be YOU! Everything else will fall into place one short day at a time.

 

Thanks for being a part of my journey,

signature

Leave a Reply

